Skip to main content

ENGL 1101: Home

Resources for starting research

Welcome

Notebook, pencil, eraser, and flowerThis guide is intended to help you research topics in English, a subject with a wide variety of library resources. In this guide, you will discover GALILEO databases, suggested books/ebooks, websites, and research help. Use the blue tabs at the top to navigate to a specific type of resource that you need for your writing assignment.

SCTC Libraries

Semester Operating Hours

Griffin Campus Library:
Monday – Thursday: 8am – 8pm
Friday: 8am-12pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Phone: 770-412-4755

Flint River Campus Library:
Monday – Thursday: 8am – 6pm
Friday: 8am-12pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Phone: 706-646-6173

Henry Center Computer Lab:
Monday – Thursday: 8am – 7pm
Friday: 8am-12pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Phone: 770-914-4423

Libraries Rules and Conduct

Southern Crescent Technical College Libraries seeks to provide quality service to all patrons. The Library follows the Code of Conduct established by the College and additional rules specific to the Library. The Library will enforce these rules. They have been adopted to enable the Library to provide the proper environment for staff and patrons. Unacceptable behavior includes but is not limited to:

  • Loud talking or other noise
  • Physical threats or abuse
  • Abusive or foul language
  • Running and roaming
  • Congregating in or around entrances or doors
  • Abuse or misuse of Library furnishings, equipment or material
  • Commission of illegal or unauthorized acts on College property
  • Failure to pay fines or other Library costs when due
  • Use of alcohol or mood-altering drugs on college property
  • Inappropriate sexual conduct

 

Patrons will be requested to leave if unacceptable behavior occurs. Students may be reported to the office of the Dean of Academic Affairs. Suspension of Library privileges may occur if a patron is found to have engaged in unacceptable behavior in the Library. Notice of suspension will be sent to the office of the Dean of Academic Affairs. Appeal of the suspension may be made in writing to the Dean of Academic Affairs. Proper authorities will be notified when criminal code violations occur.

 

Best Resources

Literature Online (LION) (ProQuest Platform)

Literature Online (LION) (ProQuest Platform)

LION (Literature Online) is a full-text library of over 330,000 works of British and American poetry, drama and prose. In addition to literary texts, LION includes biographical sketches of major writers, selected author bibliographies, and critical and reference works.

Literary Reference Center Database

Literary Reference Center Database

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.

TOPICsearch

TOPICsearch

TOPICsearch is a current events database covering social, political, and economic issues as well as scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

Research Library (ProQuest)

Research Library (ProQuest)

Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Ask a LIbrarian

chat loading...