It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The learning objectives for this assignment (what you should be able to do or know after completing the assignment) are listed below in bold text. For each objective in bold, there is an assignment below it that you will complete.
Examine the current status of healthcare quality.
The Institute of Medicine reported To Err is Human in 1999. Research the report and discuss, look for any updates to the report. Has it made any difference in the quality of healthcare (explain)?
Discuss the relevance of legislation and governmental and non-governmental initiatives and strategies to improve healthcare quality policy.
Search for more information on legislation, governmental, or nongovernment initiatives and describe current information and strategies recommended to improve healthcare quality policy.
Examine workplace safety as a critical aspect of quality improvement.
Go online and review the OSHA and NIOSH websites for current information on workplace safety. Why is the issue a concern?
Describe the role of nurses in continuous quality improvement and nursing initiatives to improve care.
Go to The Joint Commission accreditation website and discuss its relevance to quality improvement.
Hints to Help You Get Started
Question 1: Use the search skills that you have developed in weeks 4 and 6 to first find the original report from 1999 and then to search for updates to the report. You also may want to look for articles discussing the impact of the original report and current implications in GALILEO or the open web. Do not forget to use the CRAAP test on your sources (see below).
Question 2: For this question, you can use GALILEO or the open web to find examples of a legislation, governmental, or nongovernment initiatives.
You may want to limit to a specific date range to make sure the information is current and add the term “strategy or strategies” to the search to help limit it further.
Questions 3: The OSHA and NIOSH websites are on the right side of the page.
Question 4: The Joint Commission accreditation website is on the right side of the page.
Email me if you need help! My email address is firstname.lastname@example.org.
Suggested GALILEO Databases for Full Text Articles
CINAHL with Full Text provides access to full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Coverage Dates: 1981 - present (full text); 1976 - present (abstracting and indexing)
Update Frequency: Weekly
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus includes extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, videos, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Anyone can publish information on the Internet. Before using information you find on the Internet for assignments and research, it is important to judge its accuracy and to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source.
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you determine if a source is credible. The acronym CRAAP stands for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.
Determine whether your sources are reliable or crap by putting them through the CRAAP Test.
Nurse Manager Competencies
The Nurse Manager Competencies are based on the Nurse Manager Learning Domain Framework and capture the skills, knowledge and abilities that guide the practice of these nurse leaders. The successful nurse leader must gain expertise in all three domains: the science of managing the business; the art of leading the people; the leader within.