Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RNSG 2028 Nurse Leadership: Week 6

Before You Start

Learning Objectives and Questions

The learning objectives for this assignment (what you should be able to do or know after completing the assignment) are listed below in bold text. For each objective in bold, there is an assignment below it that you will complete.

  1. Discuss the problem of health disparities.
    • Review current data from the National Disparities Health Care Report. Focus on a medical problem from a previous patient. (Remember HIPPA).
  2. Explain how organizational culture impacts the healthcare organization, patient care and professional competency.
    • Review a dissonant culture. Search for examples of a dissonant culture. Have you ever worked in an organization that had a dissonant culture?
  3. Assess the importance of the role of technology in consumer healthcare information.
    • Research some challenges and barriers for the elderly and underserved when technology is used in their care.
  4. Examine the relationship between patient education and healthcare consumerism.
    • Explore how consumer education about self-managing care, use of primary care providers, specialists, and medications have been supports in your community (e.g. advertising, educational programs, activities and information provided by healthcare organizations.

Hints to Help You Get Started

Question 1: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality website is on the right side of the page.

Question 2: For this question, you can use GALILEO or the open web to find examples of a dissonant culture. Based on the searches I did to prepare this LibGuide, using Google made it easier to find examples.

Also, you may want to use “dysfunctional” or “ineffective” when you search for examples of work cultures, because using the term “dissonant” or dissonance” with the word “culture” brought up results about “cultural dissonance” which is a related topic but not what you are looking for here.

Questions 3 & 4: For this question, you will need to find a popular, trade, or scholarly article for your critique. Refer back to Week 4 for a definition of each type.

For these two questions, I suggest that you search specific databases and do not use the main GALILEO search box. Use the box on the left side of this page titled, “Suggested GALILEO Databases for Full Text Articles.” In the middle of the page, you will find tips on how to effectively use search terms and Boolean operators.

Email me if you need help! My email address is sherry.brooks@sctech.edu.

Suggested GALILEO Databases for Full Text Articles

Effective Searching in GALILEO

Google vs GALILEO

Searching databases in GALILEO is similar to searching the open web using a search engine like Google, but there are some important differences:

Type of Information: Google searches allow you to find information on the open web. The search results that you see are a mix of different types of websites (government sites, personal sites, news sites, images, videos, etc.) so you have do some work to sort through the results to find reliable sources that give you the answer that you need. Peer-reviewed sources and e-books, however, are not available full-text through Google searches, because these resources cost money. You can find links to articles using Google but will hit a pay wall (request to pay money to view the item).

Text Retrieval: There are two main ways that you can search for information using a search engine. You can search for keywords or for indexed terms. This is covered in the next section.

Search Terms

Google searches for keywords. Keywords are words that are used by the author in the text of article or title. When searching for keywords, you have to think about how other people might describe something or words that they might use. In the medical field, an example of this is disease names. Professionals in the field would use the proper medical term for a disease (varicella) whereas the average person would probably use a more common name (Chickenpox).

GALILEO databases can be searched using indexed terms. In databases that use indexed terms, the articles have been labelled with specific terms that describe the topic of article. This means that a search for a specific index term will find all articles on that topic no matter which term the author used (varicella or Chickenpox). This can make searching easier once you know the specific term you need to search for.

We’ll cover this more in-depth later in the semester. For now, I think that you should just be aware that these differences exist.

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators are used to create relationships between terms.

AND: Retrieves records containing both terms. This will narrow your search results (find fewer articles). A search for “varicella AND vaccines” will only find articles that are about varicella vaccines.

OR: Retrieves records containing term 1 or term 2. This will broaden your search results (find more articles). A search for “varicella OR vaccines” will find articles that are about varicella or vaccines. The results will include articles about the treatment and diagnosis of varicella, as well as articles on other vaccines like tetanus, polio, flu, rabies, etc.

NOT: Retrieves records containing term 1 not term 2. This will help make your search more specific and can be used when you want to exclude certain items. A search for “varicella NOT vaccines” will find articles that are about varicella but do not contain any mention of vaccines.

Websites

AONE Competencies

Nurse Manager Competencies

The Nurse Manager Competencies are based on the Nurse Manager Learning Domain Framework and capture the skills, knowledge and abilities that guide the practice of these nurse leaders. The successful nurse leader must gain expertise in all three domains: the science of managing the business; the art of leading the people; the leader within.