Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology: Molecules and Cells Reinforce students'understanding throughout their course; clear topic summaries with sample questions and answers will improve exam technique to achieve higher gradesWritten by examiners and teachers, Student Guides:· Help students identify what they need to know with a concise summary of the topics examined in the AS and A-level specification· Consolidate understanding with exam tips and knowledge check questions· Provide opportunities to improve exam technique with sample graded answers to exam-style questions· Develop independent learning and research skills
Cell Biology and Genetics by The present book entitled Cell Biology and Genetics aims to cover a wide area of cell biology and Mendelian genetics in a form especially suitable for first year undergraduates for unified syllabus of all Indian universities. The overall theme for the book is the cell as the unit of life and its components. We begin by describing the history and components of the cell as seen under the microscope. Further, we turn to the theories and plasma membrane structure and its function. The next chapter describes structure and function of cell organelles. The aim of chapter 3 to describe the biomolecules with structure of chromosomes, Watson and Crick model of DNA, differences between DNA and RNA. We have discussed cell cycle and cell division in detail in chapter 4 whereas Mendelian genetics and sex linkage with various examples given in chapter 5. The last chapter discusses various aspects of sex determination, sex differentiation, prenatal detection of genetic diseases (amniocentesis), sex linked characters, genetic diseases and abnormalities, chromosomal aberrations, eugenics and molecular evolution describes the last section. To conclude the book, summary is given at the end of each chapter for reader to review. Boxed material throughout the book is divided into examples to illustrate the topics covered in the main text, explanations of the medical relevance of the material and in depth sections that extend the coverage beyond the content of the main text.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Cells to Civilizations by Cells to Civilizations is the first unified account of how life transforms itself--from the production of bacteria to the emergence of complex civilizations. What are the connections between evolving microbes, an egg that develops into an infant, and a child who learns to walk and talk? Award-winning scientist Enrico Coen synthesizes the growth of living systems and creative processes, and he reveals that the four great life transformations--evolution, development, learning, and human culture--while typically understood separately, actually all revolve around shared core principles and manifest the same fundamental recipe. Coen blends provocative discussion, the latest scientific research, and colorful examples to demonstrate the links between these critical stages in the history of life. Coen tells a story rich with genes, embryos, neurons, and fascinating discoveries. He examines the development of the zebra, the adaptations of seaweed, the cave paintings of Lascaux, and the formulations of Alan Turing. He explores how dogs make predictions, how weeds tell the time of day, and how our brains distinguish a Modigliani from a Rembrandt. Locating commonalities in important findings, Coen gives readers a deeper understanding of key transformations and provides a bold portrait for how science both frames and is framed by human culture. A compelling investigation into the relationships between our biological past and cultural progress, Cells to Civilizations presents a remarkable story of living change.
Publication Date: 2012-05-27
Structural Aspects of Protein Synthesis by This highly illustrated book provides an up-to-date description of the structure and function of the translation system including ribosomes, tRNAs, translation factors, antibiotics and aminoacyl-tRNA synthetases.
Publication Date: 2013-06-06
Books for Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomical Terms and Their Derivation by Anatomical terms are the vocabulary of medicine. Anatomy began as a descriptive science in the days when Latin was the universal scientific language. Early anatomists described the structures they saw in that language, comparing them to common and familiar objects, or borrowing terms from the Greek and Arabic masters before them. In anatomic terminology, common Latin or Greek words are used as such for any part of the body for which the ancients had a name. For many other structures, scientific names have been invented either by using certain classical words which appear to be descriptive of the part concerned, or commonly, by combining Greek or Latin roots to form a new compound term. Memorization of such terms without understanding their meaning can lead to mental indigestion. As an aid to comprehension, this book also presents the roots from which many of these descriptive terms and compounds are derived. For practical convenience, the book is organized into abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, general terms common to all body regions, short lists for each major body part, and an alphabetical list covering the entire body. This pocket-sized handbook is essential for anyone wishing to learn and understand medical terms.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Human Body by A superb handbook on the marvel that is the human body. This new Visual Guide provides the latest scientific information on the human body, using microphotography, advanced medical imaging and annotated illustrations. The book reveals all the intricacy and beauty of the human body and shows the structure and functions of all the systems that make up a human being: Circulatory, respiratory, digestive and nervous systems Bones, muscles and skin Sensory and digestive processes Amazing workings of the brain and internal organs. Human Body is packed with compelling information on the latest developments in modern medical procedures, reproductive technology, transplants, cosmetic surgery and new prosthetics. "FactFiles" are used throughout for quick reference to intriguing and important topics. The author has created an outstanding and easy-to-access resource to the science of the human body.
Publication Date: 2006-09-12
Human Anatomy by For students of anatomy, biology, and the biomedical sciences; medical professionals; and curious families, DK's Human Anatomy will be a definitive resource. Written by acclaimed anatomist, Dr. Alice Roberts, Human Anatomy is an up-to-the-minute study of the body. Spectacular digital images show the body in incredible, true-to-life detail. Exhaustive annotations provide the names of organs and structures throughout the skeletal, muscular, nervous, cardiovascular, lymphatic, and reproductive systems, while describing their characteristics and functions. This new addition to DK's award-winning catalog of human body titles will help readers better grasp the deep complexities of the human body for research, study, or general reference. Content previously published as part of Complete Human Body.
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Head, Neck and Dental Anatomy by This comprehensive text presents head and neck anatomy pertaining dental auxiliaries in a clear concise manner. Both dental assistant and dental hygiene students will benefit from the thorough presentation of anatomy and the strong review of tooth morphology. To aid in the learning process, the text includes numerous upgraded illustrations to show the information, not just present students with a dry listing of detail. Review questions at the end of each chapter enable students to review concepts and prepare for class exams. One of the hallmarks of the text is the clear, concise presentation in a meaningful style to engage students and enable them to retain the content for subsequent courses.
Publication Date: 2002-06-04
The Everything Guide to Anatomy and Physiology by A plain-English guide to the human body and how it works Looking for a companion text for your anatomy and physiology class? Need a refresher for a course you took years ago? Or are you just interested in learning more about how the human body works? Professor Kevin Langford walks you through all the structures of the body, from cells to organs to systems and how they interact. This all-in-one guide covers all you need to know about anatomy and physiology, including: Scientific terminology for organs, systems, and functions The functions of each system in the body How systems are formed, from conception through adulthood Diseases and disorders that affect each system With simple explanations and dozens of illustrations, The Everything Guide to Anatomy and Physiology provides a detailed look into the wonders of the human body.
Publication Date: 2015-07-10
The Handy Anatomy Answer Book by From basic biology to the lymphatic system to human growth and development, this comprehensive reference - organized by systems of the body - makes the sometimes perplexing nature of anatomy understandable through an engaging question-and-answer format. Covering over 1000 facts, in addition to the science itself, the people and history behind anatomy are discussed. Questions answered include: Do identical twins have the same fingerprints? What are the primary sensations of taste? What is the integumentary system? and How many bones are in the human body?
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Why Elephants Have Big Ears by Why Elephants Have Big Ears is the result of one man's lifelong quest to understand why the creatures of the earth appear and act as they do. In a wry manner and personal tone, Chris Lavers explores and solves some of nature's most challenging evolutionary mysteries, such as why birds are small and plentiful, why rivers and lakes are dominated by the few remaining large reptiles, why most of the large land-dwellers are mammals, and many more.
Publication Date: 2001-03-19