Managing Cardiovascular Complications in Diabetes by
Of all the complications which arise from diabetes, cardiovascular complications are by far the most prevalent and the most deadly. Authored by some of the world's leading names in this area, this outstanding book provides all those managing diabetic patients with clinical, practical and succinct guidance to the diagnosis and management of cardiovascular complications in diabetes. With a joint endocrinology and cardiology focus, and with the very latest in clinical guidelines from the ADA, EASD, AHA, ASC and ESC, selected highlights include: The role of new biomarkers of cardiovascular disease in diabetes The latest on diagnosis of cardiovascular problems via vascular imaging Hypertension and cardiovascular disease in the diabetic patient Dyslipidaemia and its management in type 2 diabetes Management of thrombosis, acute coronary syndrome and peripheral arterial disease in diabetes Key points, case studies and self-assessment questions allow for rapid-reference, quick understanding of all topics, thus ensuring that this is perfect reading for endocrinologists, diabetes specialists and cardiologists of all levels managing patients with diabetes and associated cardiovascular problems.
Atlas of Cardiac Catheterization and Interventional Cardiology by
Comprehensive, current, and lavishly illustrated, Atlas of Interventional Cardiology thoroughly covers all of today's cardiac catheterization and coronary interventional procedures, including catheterization and stenting techniques, angiography, atherectomy, thrombectomy, and more. Full-color illustrations and procedural videos guide you step by step through every interventional procedure you're likely to perform. A one-of-a-kind, practical atlas, ideal for interventional cardiologists, trainees, and general cardiologists. Each chapter includes an introduction, several case studies, conclusion, and pertinent references. Complete coverage includes chapters on Catheterization in Childhood and Adult Congenital Heart Disease, Pitfalls in the Evaluation of Hemodynamic Data, Coronary Artery Anomalies, Pulmonary Angiography, Intravascular Imaging, Interventions for Structural Heart Disease, Thoracic Aortic Endovascular Grafting, and many more. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Basic Cardiovascular Physiology: from Molecules to Translational Medical Science by
This book focuses on established cardiovascular principles and highlights some of the progress achieved by recent research in the cardiovascular field. The authors report the basic concepts related to the functioning of the cardiovascular system necessary for medical students to understand. To foster learning, in each chapter the fundamental points are highlighted in italics and/or bold. In addition, there are added boxes that contain some more detailed information about physiological mechanisms or deeper analyses of clinical aspects. The book describes the structure and function of the heart and vascular system for the reader to understand how the cardiovascular system responds in both health and disease. Conveying a unified vision of the function of the heart and the vascular system, the authors explain the complexity of the system that goes far beyond the integrated connection between preload, afterload and cardiac contractility. The endothelium covers the internal part of the whole cardiovascular system; therefore, endothelial physiology is treated in several chapters. Given the importance of coronary circulation in cardiac pathophysiology, this special circulation is described in detail and enriched with the most up-to-date information. Several paragraphs and boxes on clinical implications are dedicated to the principles of electrophysiology and the electrocardiogram. A space is also dedicated to myocardial ischemia/reperfusion injury and cardioprotective procedures. The book is written in a linear and simple language without compromising the scientific rigor of the various topics covered.
ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy! by
Deliver safe, accurate care during electrocardiographic monitoring, with the newly updated ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy! Sixth edition. This easy-to-follow, fully illustrated text explains the basics of cardiac physiology, then leads you through recognizing and treating arrhythmias, with step-by-step guidance on current medications, devices, and monitoring equipment. Take advantage of this real-world, expert nursing advice to reinforce your class materials, prepare for the NCLEX or certification exam, and strengthen your ECG interpretation skills. Features: · Coverage of topics including: o ECG fundamentals - cardiac anatomy and physiology; obtaining and interpreting a rhythm strip o Identifying and interpreting arrhythmias - atrial, junctional, ventricular, atrioventricular, and more · Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explain key concepts and provide clear direction on vital procedures, including: o The 8-Step Method for interpreting a rhythm strip o Nonpharmacologic and pharmacologic treatments for arrhythmias, including pacemakers, ICDs, and antiarrhythmics o Obtaining and interpreting a 12-lead ECG o Troubleshooting equipment problems · Helpful practice questions and quick guides include: o End-of-book multiple choice Q&A o Sample rhythm strips to help you practice your interpretation skills o A Quick Guide to arrhythmias · Special features: o Ages and stages - Identifies differences in ECGs and pacemaker needs, according to the patient's age o Now I get it - Clear-cut directions for performing complex procedures, such as using an automated external defibrillator o Don't skip this strip - Identifies the arrhythmias that have the most serious consequences o Mixed signals - Insights on solving common problems in ECG monitoring and interpretation o I can't waste time - Key points you need to know for conditions that require quick identification and treatment o Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter, to help you remember vital points
Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography by
Ideal for students and as a review for practicing clinicians, Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography explains the fundamentals of ECG interpretation and analysis, helping facilitate an understanding of rhythm disorders and the relevant clinical outcomes. The authors take readers through the nuts and bolts of ECG, using Dr. Ary Goldberger's award-winning teaching style to clarify complex concepts in an easy-to-read manner. You'll learn simple waveform analysis and beyond to present ECGs as they are used in hospital wards, outpatient clinics, emergency departments, and most especially intensive care units - where the recognition of normal and abnormal patterns is the starting point in patient care. Includes Clinical Pearls and Review Points in each chapter, as well as indispensable self-tests on interpreting and using ECGs to formulate diagnoses. Covers the nuts and bolts of ECG, explaining how to read the data and then interpret the subsequent clinical findings. Features practical, comprehensive coverage of the true-to-life clinical appearance of ECGs. Provides ECG differential diagnoses so you can answer the question, "What else could it be?" Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes new self-assessment ECGs and questions in the Expert Consult eBook. Enhances your understanding of difficult concepts through several new illustrations and animations. Highlights the latest information on intraventricular and atrioventricular (AV) conduction disturbances; sudden cardiac arrest; myocardial ischemia and infarction; drug toxicities; and electronic pacemakers and ICDs.
Introductory Guide to Cardiac Catheterization by
Updated for its Second Edition, Introductory Guide to Cardiac Catheterization is an easy-to-follow "how-to" guide to diagnostic and therapeutic cardiac catheterization. This pocket-sized, concise manual presents practical pointers, tips, ACC/AHA guidelines, and highlighted clinical pearls and includes troubleshooting sections that provide solutions to frequently encountered problems. Numerous illustrations demonstrate the complex procedures now being performed via the catheter. This edition has a section on complications in each chapter, a new chapter on peripheral angiography, and a new question-and-answer review chapter. Other highlights include new safety precautions and updates on novel closure devices.
