American Authors: Provides biographical and bibliographic information.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature: Online encyclopedia contains a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans and song writers.
Dictionary of Symbolism: To locate a symbol, simply select the letter it begins with. And user friendly searchable index.
Library of Southern Literature Homepage: The "Library of Southern Literature" includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924.
Literary Movements: Website include list of literary movements, bibliographies and information on American authors.
Poetry Websites
Academy of American Poets: (Poetry Archive) The Poetry Archive offers recording of poets (past and contemporary) reading their their poems. The Poetry Archive is searchable by title, author, form and Theme. Its largest organization dedicated specifically to the art of poetry.
Poetry Foundation: Poems, readings, poetry news and the entire 100-year archive of POETRY magazine.
Reference
Purdue Online Writing Lab The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
Daily Writing Tips: Experts in writing run the blog and provide important writing tips.
Digital Collections
Digital Collections and Primary Resources
Select a title below and explore a digital collection. If you need any assistance in finding information on your topic, please reach out to your friendly librarian.
