LibGuides: Cardiovascular Technology*: Websites

Suggested Websites

CathLab Digest
CLD focuses on providing cath lab professionals information of practical and clinical use in their working lives. It offers both continuous education and a forum through which professionals share information on best practices, the latest procedures, and ongoing concerns.
Gray's Anatomy
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication.
InnerBody
Online since 1997, InnerBody is your go-to resource for accurate and easy-to-use information about human anatomy, exploring all systems of the human body.
Medical Mnemonics
A free, non-profit, online searchable database of medical mnemonics to help remember the important details.
Practical Clinical Skills
Practical Clinical Skills provides free training and reference guides.
Study Stack - Cardiovascular
Since 2002 millions of students have used StudyStack to memorize information. StudyStack's community of students and teachers have shared millions of flashcards.
Study Stack - Medical Math
Since 2002 millions of students have used StudyStack to memorize information. StudyStack's community of students and teachers have shared millions of flashcards.

Cardiovascular Credentialing International
CCI is a credentialing organization for Cardiovascular Technology and emerging medical professionals.
Society for Vascular Ultrasound
SVU is dedicated to the advancement of noninvasive vascular technology used in the diagnosis of vascular disease.
Alliance of Cardiovascular Professionals
The Alliance of Cardiovascular Professionals is the professional home for cardiovascular technologists, registered nurses and radiologic technologists working in cardiovascular care. ACVP offers members high quality inter-professional cardiology education via our events and our on-demand courses.
Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions
The Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions (SCAI) is the leading nonprofit medical society representing invasive and interventional cardiology. Founded in 1978, SCAI’s mission is to lead the global interventional cardiovascular community through education, advocacy, research, and quality patient care

O*Net Online
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Symplicity
CardioVascular Learning Network
HMP’s CardioVascular Learning Network (CVLN) produces CME-accredited, clinically relevant, evidence-based programs for the cardiac and vascular community.

American Heart Association Founded in 1922, AHA is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. The site provides healthy l;lifestyle information and health topics pertaining to the cardiovascular system.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
Medscape One stop resource for medical reference, clinical news, and education.
MedTerms Medical Dictionary MedTerms medical dictionary is the medical terminology for MedicineNet.com. Our doctors define difficult medical language in easy-to-understand explanations of over 16,000 medical terms.
Merck Manual (Consumer Edition) First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
RxList RxList is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Founded by pharmacists in 1995, RxList is the premier Internet Drug Index resource.
WebMD WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information.

Evaluating Sources Using the CRAAP Test

The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you determine if a source is credible. The acronym CRAAP stands for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.

The CRAAP Test Worksheet
Determine whether your sources are reliable or crap by putting them through the CRAAP Test.

Anyone can publish information on the Internet. Before using information you find on the Internet for assignments and research, it is important to judge its accuracy and to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source.