Linux Essentials by
A unique, full-color introduction to Linux fundamentals Serving as a low-cost, secure alternative to expensive operating systems, Linux is a UNIX-based, open source operating system. Full-color and concise, this beginner's guide takes a learning-by-doing approach to understanding the essentials of Linux. Each chapter begins by clearly identifying what you will learn in the chapter, followed by a straightforward discussion of concepts that leads you right into hands-on tutorials. Chapters conclude with additional exercises and review questions, allowing you to reinforce and measure your understanding. Offers a hands-on approach to acquiring a foundation of Linux skills, aiming to ensure Linux beginners gain a solid understanding Uses the leading Linux distribution Fedora to demonstrate tutorials and examples Addresses Linux installation, desktop configuration, management of files and filesystems, remote administration, security, and more This book is essential reading for anyone entering the world of Linux!
LPIC-1: Linux Professional Institute Certification Study Guide by
Updated for the latest LPIC-1 Exams 101 and 102 The LPIC-1 certification measures your understanding of the Linux Kernel. As the Linux server market continues to grow, so does the demand for certified Linux administrators. Prepare for the latest versions of the LPIC-1 exams 101 and 102 with the new edition of this detailed Study Guide. This practical book covers key Linux administration topics and all exam objectives and includes real-world examples and review questions to help you practice your skills. In addition, you'll gain access to a full set of online study tools, including bonus practice exams, electronic flashcards, and more. Prepares candidates to take the Linux Professional Institute exams 101 and 102 and achieve their LPIC-1 certification Covers all exam objectives and features expanded coverage on key topics in the exam Includes real-world scenarios, and challenging review questions Gives you online access to bonus practice exams, electronic flashcards, and a searchable glossary Topics include system architecture, installation, GNU and Unix commands, Linux filesystems, essential system services, networking fundamentals, security, and more Approach the LPIC-1 certification exams with confidence, with LPIC-1: Linux Professional Institute Certification Study Guide, Third Edition.
Linux All-In-One for Dummies by
Eight minibooks in one volume cover every important aspect of Linux and everything you need to know to pass level-1 certification.
Ubuntu Made Easy by
Full of tips, tricks, and helpful pointers, Ubuntu Made Easy is a hands-on, project-based guide to Ubuntu, a completely free Linux operating system.
Linux Network Servers by
Authoritative Answers to All Your Linux Network Server Questions--Specifically for Linux Administrators Tap into Linux's impressive capabilities as a network server.
Mastering Red Hat Linux 9 by
Your Complete Guide to the World's Leading Linux Distribution Whether you depend on Linux as a server or desktop OS, "Mastering Red Hat Linux 9" gives you the practical information you need to install, configure, and administer the latest version of Red Hat's operating system to suit your specific computing needs.
Linux Mint Essentials by
Your Complete Guide to the World's Leading Linux Distribution Whether you depend on Linux as a server or desktop OS, Mastering Red Hat Linux 9 gives you the practical information you need to install, configure, and administer the latest version of Red Hat's operating system to suit your specific computing needs
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Administration by
The definitive guide to administering a Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 network Linux professionals who need a go-to guide on version 6 of Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) will find what they need in this comprehensive Sybex book. It covers RHEL administration in detail, including how to set up and manage web and mail services, use RHEL in enterprise environments, secure it, optimize storage, configure for virtualization and high availability, and much more. It also provides a great study aid for those preparing for either the RHCSA or RHCE certification exam.Red Hat is the Linux market leader, and Red Hat administrators are in demandThis Sybex guide is a comprehensive resource on Red Hat Enterprise Linux administration and useful for those preparing for one of the Red Hat certification examsCovers setting up and managing web and mail services, using RHEL in enterprise environments, securing RHEL, and optimizing storage to fit your environmentExplores advanced RHEL configurations, including virtualization and high availability "Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Administration" is the guide Linux professionals and Red Hat administrators need to stay current on the newest version.
Linux in the Workplace by
Linux in the Workplace introduces Linux users to the desktop capabilities of Linux and the K Desktop Environment (KDE) graphical user interface, a powerful Open Source graphical desktop environment for UNIX workstations. Includes information on how to use email and surf the Internet; perform general office-related tasks; work with the command line; and much more.
Beginning Linux Programming by
Beginning Linux Programming, Fourth Edition continues its unique approach to teaching UNIX programming in a simple and structured way on the Linux platform. Through the use of detailed and realistic examples, students learn by doing, and are able to move from being a Linux beginner to creating custom applications in Linux. The book introduces fundamental concepts beginning with the basics of writing Unix programs in C, and including material on basic system calls, file I/O, interprocess communication (for getting programs to work together), and shell programming. Parallel to this, the book introduces the toolkits and libraries for working with user interfaces, from simpler terminal mode applications to X and GTK+ for graphical user interfaces. Advanced topics are covered in detail such as processes, pipes, semaphores, socket programming, using MySQL, writing applications for the GNOME or the KDE desktop, writing device drivers, POSIX Threads, and kernel programming for the latest Linux Kernel.
Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Power Users by
This updated bestseller from Linux guru Chris Negus is packed with an array of new and revised material As a longstanding bestseller, Ubuntu Linux Toolbox has taught you how to get the most out Ubuntu, the world's most popular Linux distribution. With this anticipated new edition, Christopher Negus returns with a host of new and expanded coverage on tools for managing file systems, ways to connect to networks, techniques for securing Ubuntu systems, and a look at the latest Long Term Support (LTS) release of Ubuntu, all aimed at getting you up and running with Ubuntu Linux quickly. Covers installation, configuration, shell primer, the desktop, administrations, servers, and security Delves into coverage of popular applications for the web, productivity suites, and e-mail Highlights setting up a server (Apache, Samba, CUPS) Boasts a handy trim size so that you can take it with you on the go Ubuntu Linux Toolbox, Second Edition prepares you with a host of updated tools for today's environment, as well as expanded coverage on everything you know to confidently start using Ubuntu today.
Linux Bible by
The industry favorite Linux guide, updated for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 and the cloud Linux Bible, 9th Edition is the ultimate hands-on Linux user guide, whether you're a true beginner or a more advanced user navigating recent changes. This updated ninth edition covers the latest versions of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (RHEL 7), Fedora 21, and Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, and includes new information on cloud computing and development with guidance on Openstack and Cloudforms. With a focus on RHEL 7, this practical guide gets you up to speed quickly on the new enhancements for enterprise-quality file systems, the new boot process and services management, firewalld, and the GNOME 3 desktop. Written by a Red Hat expert, this book provides the clear explanations and step-by-step instructions that demystify Linux and bring the new features seamlessly into your workflow. This useful guide assumes a base of little or no Linux knowledge, and takes you step by step through what you need to know to get the job done. Get Linux up and running quickly Master basic operations and tackle more advanced tasks Get up to date on the recent changes to Linux server system management Bring Linux to the cloud using Openstack and Cloudforms Linux Bible, 9th Edition is the one resource you need, and provides the hands-on training that gets you on track in a flash.
Shell Scripting by
A compendium of shell scripting recipes that can immediately be used, adjusted, and applied The shell is the primary way of communicating with the Unix and Linux systems, providing a direct way to program by automating simple-to-intermediate tasks. With this book, Linux expert Steve Parker shares a collection of shell scripting recipes that can be used as is or easily modified for a variety of environments or situations. The book covers shell programming, with a focus on Linux and the Bash shell; it provides credible, real-world relevance, as well as providing the flexible tools to get started immediately. Shares a collection of helpful shell scripting recipes that can immediately be used for various of real-world challenges Features recipes for system tools, shell features, and systems administration Provides a host of plug and play recipes for to immediately apply and easily modify so the wheel doesn't have to be reinvented with each challenge faced Come out of your shell and dive into this collection of tried and tested shell scripting recipes that you can start using right away!
OpenSUSE 11.0 and SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Bible by
Presenting updated coverage of openSUSE 11.0 and SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11.0, this reference is written by Novell insiders and boasts the most up-to-date information available Topics covered include the openSUSE project, command line programs and implementing online services, virtualization, kernel updates, Enterprise Architecture, and more Reviews Linux fundamentals such as methodologies, partitions, and file system, and features a new section devoted entirely to end-user needs The DVD includes the openSUSE 11.0
