LibGuides: Carpentry: Articles

Search GALILEO

Search Google Scholar

Search for an article in Google Scholar. Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles on the Internet.

Carpentry Journals

Specific journals for the construction industry

Buildings - The facilities construction and management magazine; feature articles, construction and development, commentary, case studies, product reviews and news of note for executives and managers in banks, insurance companies, retail, education, hotels, utility.

Hospitality Design - Feature articles, thematic issues, product reviews and commentary on all aspects of the design, construction, development and management of hotels, resorts, non-military clubs, senior living developments and healthcare facilities.

Suggested Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Aside from the ability to search and browse for articles in over 4000 business journals, the Business Searching Interface allows for easy browsing of supplementary content such as, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and author profiles
- This link opens in a new window
Career & Techncial Education This link opens in a new window Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information.
Science & Technology Collection Covers aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Full text publications, including many scholarly journals.
Vocational and Career Collections The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals

Articles in the Spotlight

Articles in the Spotlight

"Rebuilding the Construction Industry as a Career Destination." (Cover story). Plans & Trusts, vol. 37, no. 6, Nov. 2019, pp. 10–15.
"Carpenter Apprentices: Comparison of Career Transitions for Men and Women.” Journal of Applied Psychology, vol. 72, no. 3, Aug. 1987, pp. 393–400.
“Constructing Careers. On Building the Foundation for a Strong Construction Program.” Tech Directions, vol. 58, no. 10, Jan. 1999, pp. 38–40.
“School-to-Work Transition of Career and Technical Education Graduates.” Career Development Quarterly, vol. 60, no. 2, June 2012, pp. 134–144.
“Women in Construction: The Untapped Resource.” Construction Management & Economics, vol. 18, no. 1, Jan. 2000, p. 113.