Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Print Books
Contemporary Nursing by Contemporary Nursing, Issues, Trends, & Management, 6th Edition prepares you for the rapidly evolving world of health care with a comprehensive yet focused survey of nursing topics affecting practice, as well as the issues facing today's nurse managers and tomorrow's nurse leaders. Newly revised and updated, Barbara Cherry and Susan Jacob provide the most practical and balanced preparation for the issues, trends, and management topics you will encounter in practice. Content mapped to the AACN BSN Essentials emphasizes intraprofessional teams, cultural humility and sensitivity, cultural competence, and the CLAS standards. Vignettes at the beginning of each chapter put nursing history and practice into perspective, followed by Questions to Consider While Reading This Chapter that help you reflect on the Vignettes and prepare you for the material to follow. Case studies throughout the text challenge you to apply key concepts to real-world practice. Coverage of leadership and management in nursing prepares you to function effectively in management roles. Career management strategies include advice for making the transition from student to practitioner and tips on how to pass the NCLEX-RN ® examination. Key terms, learning outcomes, and chapter overviews help you study more efficiently and effectively. Helpful websites and online resources provide ways to further explore each chapter topic. Coverage of nursing education brings you up to date on a wide range of topics, from the emergence of interactive learning strategies and e-learning technology, to the effects of the nursing shortage and our aging nursing population. Updated information on paying for health care in America, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, and statistics on health insurance coverage in the United States helps you understand the history and reasons behind healthcare financing reform, the costs of healthcare, and current types of managed care plans. A new section on health information technology familiarizes you with how Electronic Health Records (EHRs), point-of-care technologies, and consumer health information could potentially impact the future of health care. Updated chapter on health policy and politics explores the effect of governmental roles, structures, and actions on health care policy and how you can get involved in political advocacy at the local, state, and federal level to help shape the U.S. health care system. The latest emergency preparedness and response guidelines from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), and the World Health Organization (WHO) prepare you for responding to natural and man-made disasters.
Call Number: RT 41 .C564 2014
Publication Date: 2013-01-23
Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment by This unique textbook draws upon real-life scenarios and evidence-based strategies as it guides you in learning to think critically in clinically meaningful ways. The new edition features a more streamlined, full-color design, and expanded coverage on some of key trends, including: interdisciplinary care teams, competency-based education, the IOM''s Leading Health Indicators, legal considerations, the effects of the Affordable Care Act, and much more.
Call Number: RT86 .A34 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
NCLEX-RN 2017 Strategies, Practice and Review with Practice Test by Passing the NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know-- it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, [this book] shows you how to leverage your content knowledge to think like a nurse.
Call Number: RT55 .I79 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
Leadership and Management Competence in Nursing Practice by Written specifically for the experienced nurse enrolled in an RN-to-BSN program, this text guides nurses through an interactive critical thinking process to become effective and confident nurse leaders. All nurses involved with direct patient care already rely on similar strategies to oversee patient safety, make care decisions, and integrate plan of care in collaboration with patients and families. This text expands upon that knowledge and provides a firm base to reach the next steps in academia and practice, enabling the BSN-prepared nurse to tackle serious issues in care delivery with a high level of self-awareness and skill. Leadership and Management Competence in Nursing Practice relies on a keen understanding of what experienced nurses already bring to the classroom. This text provides a core framework and useful skills and strategies to successfully lead nursing and healthcare forward. Clear, concise chapters cover leadership skills and personal attributes of leaders with minimal repetition of material covered in associate's degree programs. Content builds on the framework of AACN Essentials of Baccalaureate Education, IOM Competencies, and QSEN KSAs. Each chapter presents case scenarios to promote critical thinking and decision-making. Self-assessment tools featured throughout the text enable nurses to evaluate their current strengths, areas for growth, and learning needs. Key Features: Provides information needed for the associate's degree nurse to advance to the level of professionally prepared baccalaureate degree nurseChapters contain critical thinking exercises, vignettes, and case scenarios targeted to the RN-to-BSN audienceSelf-assessment tools included in most chapters to help the reader determine where they are now on the topic and to what point they need to advance to obtain competence and confidence in the professional nursing roleProvides information and skills needed by nurses in a variety of healthcare settingsIncludes an instructor's manual and PowerPoint slides
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Leadership in Nursing Practice by Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Premier Access that unlocks a comprehensive eBook, interactive lectures, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Healthcare, Third Edition, gives nursing students the opportunity to develop the leadership skill set they will need to succeed in the field. The text acknowledges that not all nurses will be managers, but that all, regardless of career path, will be leaders. The Third Edition focuses on current leadership, innovation, and organization theory and prepares students for a transition into leadership positions. It also explores time management, finance and fiscal management, communication and negotiation, ethical decision making, career management, and much more. The Third Edition features end-of-chapter questions that align with the AONE nurse leader competencies, the AACN BSN Essentials, and NCLEX leadership content. This emphasis increases the text's relevancy for students in both RN-to-BSN and pre-licensure programs. In addition, two new authors lend their expertise on nursing from both the health system and academic perspective, thereby enhancing the applicability and relevancy to students and faculty alike. Key Features: Leadership styles Career trajectories in nursing Job search skills, including resume writing and interviewing Technology and informatics Interprofessional practice Innovation and performance improvement Leadership in population health and ambulatory care Navigate 2 Premier Access
Publication Date: 2018-02-26
Quality Caring in Nursing and Health Systems by This text focuses on the practical application of the Quality Caring Model, featuring new examples of ways to embed caring into the health care environment. An abundance of practice analyses and reflective exercises reinforce the book's content.Written for nursing students, clinicians, educators, and leaders, this text delves into the intricacies of relational health care.
Publication Date: 2018-03-01