Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Makeup Artist Handbook by
Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Get professional techniques usually known only by Hollywood makeup artists in this full-color, comprehensive book from accomplished makeup pros Gretchen Davis and Mindy Hall.
130 Projects to Get You into Film Making by
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Brand new in Barron's Aspire Series for students of various arts, this book offers expert guidance in the principles, practice, and techniques of film making. .
The Biz by
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Today's film industry is a legal and financial obstacle course that independent film-makers must learn to master. the most comprehensive guide to negotiating that obstacle course is 'The Biz', a highly accessible overview of the industry's important business, legal and financial aspects.
Writing for Animation, Comics, and Games by
Publication Date: 2006-10-25
Writing for Animation, Comics, and Games explains the practical aspects of creating scripts for animation, comics, graphic novels, and computer games. It details how you can create scripts that are in the right industry format, and follow the expected rules for you to put your best foot forward to help you break-in to the trade.
Filmcraft: Costume Design by
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
Actors often say they only really assume the identity of their character when they have donned the costumes painstakingly created for them by the costume designer. In this volume of the FilmCraft series of books, sixteen of the world's leading costume designers come together to share their inspiration and knowledge with the reader. They provide insights into the challenges of envisioning a character, working with budgets, and collaborating with production designers, actors and directors.
The Film Encyclopedia by
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
The Film Encyclopedia, has been lovingly expanded to include new, thorough coverage of independent films, the artistic and technical aspects of filmmaking, and the trends that lie close to the heart of today's movie buff.
Production Algebra by
Publication Date: 2009-07-10
Have you ever wanted to know what it's like to work on a film set? This handbook is packed with information that will help you get into the film and video industry. Mark Adler provides detailed descriptions of the many roles that a Production Assistant plays on the set. Chapters include types of Production Assistants, specific duties, a day in the life on a set, terms and lingo, as well as examples of forms. This handbook is your launching pad into the film and video industry.
Film and Video Production in the Cloud by
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
In Film and Video Production in the Cloud, veteran video production consultant Jack James provides a practical guide to cloud processes, concepts, and workflows as they relate to the most widely used cloud applications in the industry. Topics discussed include the benefits of cloud storage, cloud-based production and postproduction pipelines, project and asset management, distribution and archiving, budget and security considerations, and crowdsourcing.
Hollywood Game Plan by
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Hollywood Game Plan is an in-depth, how-to guide for aspiring Hollywood hopefuls. It provides a concrete, step-by-step strategy to land a job in the entertainment industry. It is the first book to provide insights and advice from both sides of the spectrum: seasoned professionals with decades-long success and wisdom, and up-and-coming professionals who were pounding the pavement just a few years ago and share the up-to-the minute strategies that helped them land their first jobs.
The Production Assistant's Pocket Handbook by
Publication Date: 2008-10-05
Think of it, to try and make movie. What a crazy idea! This popular handbook is designed to give new Production Assistants (P.A.s) an edge in the insane world of movie making. Topics include how to get your first job, the basics of lock-downs, radio communication, running talent, what to bring to a set, and driving. Written by a P.A., this handbook is full of advice and stories from the trenches. The 3rd edition has been expanded and checked by industry professionals, P.A.s and instructors at film schools.
Hollywood 101 by
Publication Date: 2000-03-02
Hollywood 101 is a complete game plan for getting your foot in the door of the film industry. With fascinating inside stories and advice from key players, it takes you step-by-step up the ladder of success. Whether you aspire to be a producer, director, writer, talent agent, and any other behind-the-camera professional, this is the one book you need to turn your "reel" dreams into reality!
Alternative Scriptwriting by
Publication Date: 2006-09-12
Alternative Scriptwriting is an insightful and inspiring book on screenwriting concerned with challenging you to take creative risks with genre, tone, character, and structure.
The Digital Filmmaking Handbook by
Publication Date: 2014-07-03
The one-stop resource to guide you in taking your digital film project from initial concept to finished project. Covering everything from writing and pre-production planning to shooting and post-production editing and effects, you'll learn the ins and outs of the craft and you'll pick up techniques for creating shots and effects that transcend typical "low-budget" productions.
Film Worlds by
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Film Worlds unpacks the significance of the "worlds" that narrative films create, offering an innovative perspective on cinema as art.
Conversations with Cinematographers by
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
David A. Ellis has interviewed some of the most influential and highly regarded cameramen of the last half century and more, and he has assembled these exchanges in Conversations with Cinematographers.
American Independent Cinema by
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
This introduction to American Independent Cinema offers both a comprehensive industrial and economic history of the sector from the early twentieth century to the present and a study of key individual films, filmmakers and film companies.
A Hidden History of Film Style by
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
A Hidden History of Film Style is the first study to focus on the collaborations between directors and cinematographers, a partnership that has played a crucial role in American cinema since the early years of the silent era.
You can check out for free children's books. Just signup for an account. Open Library National Emergency Library by Open Library, a project of the Internet Archive, adding to the growing list of free sources for online reading and learning.
Teaching Stem in the Early Years by
Call Number: LB 1139.5 .S35 M66 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
More than 85 activities that support and extend children's learning in the four STEM disciplines .
Teaching Mathematics in Early Childhood by
Call Number: QA 135.5 .M6152 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-02
Children who learn math fundamentals in preschool and kindergarten have the best chance of later achievement in school; but all too often, children don't get the effective early math instruction that makes all the difference.
Science Is Simple by
Call Number: LB 1139.5 .S35 A84
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
What do seeds need to grow? What can the wind do? What is dirt? Like learning to count or read, understanding the fascinating world of science is an essential skill.
Uncovering Student Ideas in Primary Science, Volume 1 by
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
2014 Winner of the Distinguished Achievement Award from PreK-12 Learning Group, Association of American Publishers! What ideas do young children bring to their science learning, and how does their thinking change as they engage in "science talk"?
Stem Play by
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
. This book approaches learning centers through the STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) lens, and shares how themes can be integrated into centers to promote creativity and highler-level thinking. STEM Play provides varied activities for the most common centers: Art, blocks, ;dramatic play, literacy, math, science, music and movement.