LibGuides: Respiratory Care*: Websites

Suggested Websites

O*Net Online O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Occupational Outlook Handbook The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Symplicity

InnerBody Online since 1997, InnerBody is your go-to resource for accurate and easy-to-use information about human anatomy, exploring all systems of the human body. More than 10 million patients, students, and other inquisitive people visit our website each year. More than 200 high schools and community colleges integrate our content into their curriculum and use InnerBody as a fun, interactive alternative to expensive textbooks.
Medical Mnemonics A free, non-profit, online searchable database of medical mnemonics to help remember the important details.
Practical Clinical Skills Practical Clinical Skills provides free training and reference guides. Our simulation-based lessons cover heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure measurement and EKG training. The quick reference guides are a timely information source at the point of care.
Quizlet - Respiratory Care Search millions of study sets or create your own. Improve your grades by studying with flashcards, games and more.
Study Stack - Medical Math Since 2002 millions of students have used StudyStack to memorize information. StudyStack's community of students and teachers have shared millions of flashcards. For each set of flashcards entered, the StudyStack website generates over a dozen ways for users to study the information they need to learn. The variety of study activities enables users to memorize data quickly without getting bored from using a single method of study.
Study Stack - Respiratory Therapy Flashcards Since 2002 millions of students have used StudyStack to memorize information. StudyStack's community of students and teachers have shared millions of flashcards. For each set of flashcards entered, the StudyStack website generates over a dozen ways for users to study the information they need to learn. The variety of study activities enables users to memorize data quickly without getting bored from using a single method of study.

American Lung Association The American Lung Association is the leading organization working to save lives by improving lung health and preventing lung disease, through research, education and advocacy.
Canadian Lung Association - Lung Disease A-Z The Lung Association is the leading organization in Canada working to promote lung health and prevent and manage lung disease.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
Medline Plus - Lung Diseases MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Medscape One stop resource for medical reference, clinical news, and education.
MedTerms Medical Dictionary MedTerms medical dictionary is the medical terminology for MedicineNet.com. Our doctors define difficult medical language in easy-to-understand explanations of over 16,000 medical terms.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
RxList RxList is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Founded by pharmacists in 1995, RxList is the premier Internet Drug Index resource.
WebMD - Types of Lung Diseases WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information.

American Association for Respiratory Care The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) is the leading national and international professional association for respiratory care.
Georgia Composite Medical Board - Respiratory Care Professional The Georgia Composite Medical Board is the agency that licenses physicians, physician assistants, respiratory care professionals, perfusionists, acupuncturists, orthotists, prosthetists, auricular (ear) detoxification specialists, residency training permits, cosmetic laser practitioners and pain management clinics.
Georgia Society for Respiratory Care The Georgia Society for Respiratory Care (GSRC) is the professional organization for Respiratory Therapists in the state of Georgia.
National Board for Respiratory Care The National Board for Respiratory Care promotes excellence in respiratory care by awarding credentials based on high competency standards. Nearly 30,000 candidates test for NBRC credentials each year.

Evaluating Sources Using the CRAAP Test

The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you determine if a source is credible. The acronym CRAAP stands for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.

The CRAAP Test Worksheet
Determine whether your sources are reliable or crap by putting them through the CRAAP Test.

Anyone can publish information on the Internet. Before using information you find on the Internet for assignments and research, it is important to judge its accuracy and to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source.