Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Print Books
Certification Preparation for Dental Assisting by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Certification Preparation for Dental Assisting prepares students for the Certified Dental Assistant (CDA®) exam. This review book follows the organization of the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. (DANB) exam outline, and features a comprehensive outline format with integrated review questions for each subtopic. A 320-question simulated exam is included in the text. Accompanying the book is a CD-ROM featuring all 480 questions from the text along with an additional 480 questions for a total of 960 dental assisting review questions. Study and test-taking tips as well as rationales for each of the questions are included to help students prepare for the exam.
Call Number: RK60.5 .L57 2012
Publication Date: 2011-05-18
Delmar's Handbook of Essential Skills and Procedures for Chairside Dental Assisting by This resource provides essential information on the core clinical skills and procedures dental assistants need to know. Concise and user friendly, it presents a learning system appropriate for formal education settings, lab-based programs, on-the-job training and refresher courses. Outstanding illustrations make this text ideal for the visually oriented learner. (key words: dental assistant, dental assisting)
Call Number: RK60.5 .P483 2002
Publication Date: 2001-09-11
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by Learn how common medical conditions can affect the course of the dental treatment a patient receives. This updated, concise reference provides the information you need to provide appropriate dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Featuring vivid illustrations and well-organized tables in each chapter, this text gives you the in-depth details and the overall summaries you need to get to the root of your patients' needs. Organization of medical conditions provides a brief overview of the basic disease process, epidemiology, pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, laboratory findings, and currently accepted medical therapy of each disorder. This is followed by a detailed explanation and recommendations for specific dental management. Coverage of dosages, side effects, and drug interactions with medications used in dentistry, including those used during pregnancy. Chapters focusing on major health problems in the US and other nations include, ischemic hearth disease, smoking and tobacco use cessation, sleep-related breathing disorders, sexually transmitted diseases, diabetes mellitus, and psychiatric disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Appendix on the therapeutic management of common oral lesions provides a quick reference to the causative factors, clinical description, currently accepted therapeutic management, and patient education regarding common oral conditions. Appendix on alternative and complementary drugs looks at herbal remedies, specifically efficacy, adverse effects/reactions, medical problems, drug interactions, and dental implications. NEW! Chapter on drug and alcohol abuse discusses the effects of marijuana, cocaine, amphetamines/methamphetamine, and alcohol, along with considerations for both medical and dental management. NEW! 2009 AAOS statement on Antibiotic Prophylaxis for Bacteremia in Patients with Joint Replacements provides recommendations to supplement practitioners in their clinical judgment regarding antibiotic prophylaxis for patients with a joint prosthesis.
Call Number: RK55.S53 L57 2013
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Basic Guide to Dental Radiography by Basic Guide to Dental Radiography provides an essential introduction to radiography in the dental practice. Illustrated throughout, this guide outlines and explains each topic in a clear and accessible style. Comprehensive coverage includes general physics, principles of image formation, digital image recording, equipment, biological effects of x-rays and legislation Suitable for the whole dental team Illustrated in full colour throughout Ideal for those completing mandatory CPD in radiography Useful study guide for the NEBDN Certificate in Dental Radiography, the National Certificate in Radiography or the Level 3 Diploma in Dental Nursing
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Dental Anatomy by Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Oxford Handbook of Dental Nursing by The Oxford Handbook of Dental Nursing serves as a practical, easily accessible, informative, and up-to-date quick reference guide that a dental nurse can use throughout their career, from the initial training stage to qualification and beyond. It enables users to find relevant informationquickly, and will support dental nurses in their everyday work and provide easy access to information they may require in clinical sessions. As well as the basics it highlights the core competencies and contains further information which is of use to qualified dental nurses working in general dentalpractice, in the NHS or private sector, dental hospitals, and community dental services. The book is aimed primarily at dental nurses and will also be valuable to dental surgeons, tutors, and assessors to facilitate the learning and development of their students.
Publication Date: 2012-09-08