LibGuides: Paramedicine*: Websites

Suggested Websites

O*Net Online O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Occupational Outlook Handbook The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Symplicity

InnerBody Online since 1997, InnerBody is your go-to resource for accurate and easy-to-use information about human anatomy, exploring all systems of the human body. More than 10 million patients, students, and other inquisitive people visit our website each year. More than 200 high schools and community colleges integrate our content into their curriculum and use InnerBody as a fun, interactive alternative to expensive textbooks.
Medical Mnemonics A free, non-profit, online searchable database of medical mnemonics to help remember the important details.
Practical Clinical Skills Practical Clinical Skills provides free training and reference guides. Our simulation-based lessons cover heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure measurement and EKG training. The quick reference guides are a timely information source at the point of care.
Study Stack - Medical Math Since 2002 millions of students have used StudyStack to memorize information. StudyStack's community of students and teachers have shared millions of flashcards. For each set of flashcards entered, the StudyStack website generates over a dozen ways for users to study the information they need to learn. The variety of study activities enables users to memorize data quickly without getting bored from using a single method of study.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.
EMS1,com Provides paramedics, EMTs, EMS students, and paramedic chiefs and EMS administrators with the information and resources they need to provide better patient care and serve our communities.
Journal of Emergency Medical Services JEMS (Journal of Emergency Medical Services) seeks to improve patient care in the prehospital setting and promote positive change in EMS by delivering information and education from industry leaders, change makers and emerging voices.
Medscape One stop resource for medical reference, clinical news, and education.
MedTerms Medical Dictionary MedTerms medical dictionary is the medical terminology for MedicineNet.com. Our doctors define difficult medical language in easy-to-understand explanations of over 16,000 medical terms.
Paramedic.com Paramedic.com is your gateway to pre-hospital emergency medicine featuring paramedic jobs, careers and EMT training.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
RxList RxList is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Founded by pharmacists in 1995, RxList is the premier Internet Drug Index resource.
WebMD WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information.

National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians The National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians serves as the Nation’s Emergency Medical Services Certification organization. The mission of the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians has always been centered on protecting the public and advancing the EMS profession.
Georgia Department of Public Health - EMS Personnel Licensure Georgia requirements for individuals seeking licensure as an EMT, Advanced EMT, or Paramedic

Evaluating Sources Using the CRAAP Test

The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you determine if a source is credible. The acronym CRAAP stands for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.

The CRAAP Test Worksheet
Determine whether your sources are reliable or crap by putting them through the CRAAP Test.

Anyone can publish information on the Internet. Before using information you find on the Internet for assignments and research, it is important to judge its accuracy and to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source.