Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search all of GALILEO in one fell swoop with this search bar! You can also visit the GALILEO site directly to browse by subject or material.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics. Also contains environmental impact statements
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more
Biology Database (ProQuest)
Biology Journals (ProQuest) provides access to a wide range of biology topics.
Database Search Tips
Using keywords and/or phrases is essential in an effective database search. Where do you find the keywords or phrases to use? Just look at your working topic sentence.
Example of a working topic sentence
- The significance of Hero's Journey and mythology in Harry Potter.
Remember to use quotation marks when using a phrase or phrases in a database search.
- "Hero's Journey" and "Harry Potter"
Oh, the dreaded Boolean search. Shall we skip this?
Believe it or not, you use Boolean search operators every time you conduct an Advance Search in a database. Boolean operators allow you to produce better search results by giving you the ability to narrow or broaden a search for topic or subject.
- Use AND operator to limit search results to only keywords or phrase(s) you are using. (Narrow search)
- Use OR operator to expand your search with additional keywords. (Broaden search)
Experiment using the "Select a Field " options in your search for information.
Use limiter options available in the databases to produce the best search results. Have fun exploring limit options while conducting research. You might just be surprised!
Full Text: Select this option when conducting research for articles.
Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals: Most reliable source of information to use on your subject.
Publication: Use to find the most current information on your topic by selecting a specific date range.
Limit by Type: Allows you to select the type of source(s) to use in research (i.e. Reviews, Magazines, eBooks)
Subject: Use this option to find sources on your subject.
Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching